• The 6th Lampara Books Story Writing Contest

    LAMPARA Publishing House, Inc. (LPHI) wishes to announce the winners in the recently concluded 2016 Annual Lampara Books Children’s Story Writing Contest.     

                   Among the 123 entries, “Ang Bisita ni Lolo Lino” written by Mark Raywin S. Tome bagged the first prize. A resident of Tondo, Manila and a graduate of Bachelor of Secondary Education Major in Filipino from the Philippine Normal University, Tome, wins a cash prize of Php 30,000.00.

                   Mary Grace S. Borja, author of “Mga Basyong Bote sa Aparador ni Nanay” is the recipient of the second prize. She is a resident of Plaridel, Bulacan and graduate of Bulacan State University. Borja wins a cash prize of Php 15,000.00.  


                   Each winner also receives a scroll of merit.

                   The board of jury was composed of Ms. Becky Bravo, award-winning children’s story writer and currently an editor-translator-writer at LPHI; Mr. Eugene Y. Evasco, Palanca Awards hall of famer, UP professor and award-winning author of children’s stories; and Mr. Segundo D. Matias, Jr., Palanca Award-winner for teleplay and children’s story and LPHI president and general manager.

                    The judging was held at the Lampara Publishing House, Inc. office in Quezon City, with DTI representative Narissa P. Torres, on December 23, 2016.

                    The story will be illustrated by the winner in the soon-to-be launched 6th Lampara Books Illustrator’s Prize, also sponsored by LPHI, and will be published by the company through its banner book imprint, Lampara Books.

                    Launched in 2011, the contest aims to find suitable stories for children for publication as illustrated children’s books by Lampara Publishing House, Inc.