Gulliver's Travels

PHP 109.75
Jonathan Swift

Gulliver's Travels

Gulliver, a trained surgeon, goes on four separate voyages when his business fails. Each voyage brings new viewpoints regarding his life.

His first voyage is to Lilliput. His adventure begins when he finds himself shipwrecked, bound by tiny threads, and a prisoner of small people called the Lilliputians. He is then used by the army in its war against the people of Blefuscu, whom the Lilliputians hate for traditional differences. Things change when he is convicted of treason among other crimes. He escapes and sets sail for England.

The second voyage is to Brobdingnag, where Gulliver seems as small as the Lilliputians. He fears the giants, but his keepers prove to be gentle people. However he becomes anxious when he encounters various animals and insects that endanger his life. Traveling in a box as he leaves Brobdingnag, his box is plucked up by an eagle and dropped into the sea.

Gulliver’s third voyage is to Laputa, a floating island inhabited by people devoted to music and mathematics but are unable to use their knowledge for practical ends. Also he meets the Struldbrugs who are immortal but miserable.

His fourth voyage is to the land of the Houyhnhnms, rational-thinking horses who are the rulers and served by the Yahoos, beasts in human shape. Gulliver stays in the land for several years completely charmed by the Houyhnhnms to the point that he never wants to leave.

Vividly illustrated and set in easy-to-read large font, this collector’s edition can be enjoyed by young readers today and for generations to come.


social media